Skip Navigation
Manhattan Theatre Club on Facebook Manhattan Theatre Club on Twitter Manhattan Theatre Club on YouTube Manhattan Theatre Club on Instagram Join Our Mailing List Manhattan Theatre Club Social Buzz Manhattan Theatre Club Calendar

Office hours are Mon-Fri 12pm-6pm EST

(212) 399-3030

[email protected]

Read our FAQ page.

Artistic Development

Manhattan Theatre Club’s Artistic Development department oversees the development of new works, nurturing the growth of plays that often go on to be produced at MTC and other theatres around the country. We strive to create ongoing relationships with playwrights, supporting them throughout their careers.

Each year, the department reviews more than 1,000 scripts in consideration for production or further development. We host more than 30 readings, including our annual Ted Snowdon Reading Series, which provides playwrights a week of rehearsals with a full cast, and support from a director and dramaturg as they develop their new works. MTC does not accept unsolicited scripts for consideration but will consider completed plays about math, science or technology through the Sloan initiative. For more information on that program, please click the tab below.

Commission Programs

Central to our artistic development activities are our commissioning initiatives, which include the Bank of America New Play Program, The Sloan Initiative, and the Bobbie Olsen Play Commission.

Click the tabs below to find out more about the history of these programs.

The Bank of America New Play Program provides critical commissioning support to some of the most exciting playwrights working today, helping to ensure they can continue writing for the theatre. This program helps to maintain MTC’s working relationships with the best contemporary writers of plays and musicals in a competitive commercial environment. The vital new work commissioned through this program often goes on to be featured not only on MTC’s stages, but also at a number of other prestigious theatres across the country.

Current Commissioned Playwrights

  • David Auburn
  • Jocelyn Bioh
  • Halley Feiffer
  • Richard Greenberg
  • Joshua Harmon
  • Rajiv Joseph
  • Neil LaBute
  • David Lindsay-Abaire
  • Matthew Lopez
  • Nick Payne
  • Melissa Ross
  • Simon Stephens

In 2000, Manhattan Theatre Club began a partnership with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation to commission, develop and produce new plays about math, science and technology. Since first collaborating on MTC’s Tony Award and Pulitzer Prize winning production of David Auburn’s Proof, the partnership has expanded to include four to five annual commissions for emerging, mid-level and established writers. With the Foundation’s support, MTC has commissioned forty plays. The Foundation also provides a production grant to stage Sloan-related works, and has supported MTC’s productions of Charlotte Jones’s Humble Boy, Rebecca Lenkiewiecz’s adaptation of An Enemy of the People, Sharr White’s The Other Place, Nell Benjamin’s The Explorers Club, Nick Payne’s Constellations and Nick Payne’s Incognito.

Manhattan Theatre Club’s partnership with the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation is two-fold: we commission not yet written plays about math, science or technology, and we read and consider for production completed scripts that deal with these themes. In order to apply for an MTC/Sloan commission, please submit a résumé and a two page proposal outlining your idea by March 1. There is no deadline to send a completed script. MTC generally does not accept unsolicited scripts, but will consider completed plays about math, science or technology. Please send proposals or scripts and address any questions to the Sloan Project Manager at [email protected] or by mail to Manhattan Theatre Club, 311 West 43rd Street, 8th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Attn: Sloan Project Manager.



  • Jeff Augustin
  • Nell Benjamin
  • Alexandra Wood


  • Madeleine George
  • Tom Holloway
  • Nathan Louis Jackson
  • Branden Jacobs-Jenkins
  • Greg Pierce


  • April De Angelis
  • Courtney Baron
  • Nick Jones
  • Juliana Nash
  • Melissa Ross
  • Heidi Schreck
  • Sarah Treem
  • Bess Wohl


  • Lisa D’Amour
  • Daniel Goldfarb
  • Samuel D. Hunter
  • Nick Payne
  • Hannie Rayson
  • Anne Washburn
  • Michael West
  • Anna Ziegler


  • Steven Cosson
  • Michael Mitnick
  • Simon Stephens


  • Melissa James Gibson
  • Rebecca Lenkiewicz
  • Eric Simonson
  • Catherine Trieschmann


  • Rinne Groff
  • Lucy Kirkwood
  • Hannah Moscovitch
  • Mark Schultz
  • Beau Willimon


  • Kenneth Lin
  • Craig Lewis
  • Rona Munro
  • Brett Neveu


  • Eric Simonson
  • Dava Sobel
  • Jason Wells


  • Steve Belber
  • Bryony Lavery
  • Itamar Moses


  • Ron Hutchinson
  • Peter Morris
  • Shelagh Stephenson


  • Charles Evered


  • John Walch


  • Glen Berger

Funded by an endowment from MTC Board Member Bobbie Olsen, this new program commissions for a growing number of playwrights each season.

Commissioned Playwrights


  • JC Lee


  • Abe Koogler
  • Penelope Skinner

Additional support for Artistic Development is provided by the Howard Gilman Foundation, Edgerton Foundation, Ted Snowdon, The Fan Fox and Leslie R. Samuels Foundation Inc., Blanche and Irving Laurie Foundation, Inc., Virginia B. Toulmin Foundation, The Elroy and Terry Krumholz Foundation, Laurents/Hatcher Foundation, Inc., New York State Council on the Arts, Richenthal Foundation, New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, and The Rodgers & Hammerstein Foundation.